It is a fortified military building on the summit of a mountain (puig de Alaró) that was first recorded in 902, when the Saracens reached the island. It was then occupied by the different conquerors of the island and abandoned in the 14th and 15th centuries, although its military garrison remained there until 1741. It was then used exclusively for religious purposes, since an oratory had been erected in 1622.
Apart from its historical relevance, it is also an excellent vantage point over the landscape of the Tramuntana mountains and the Pla de Mallorca. It is managed by the Castell d'Alaró Foundation.
The walls of the castle and five towers are preserved. At the entrance to the site there is a first access gate on the antemural. Further up there is a second entrance on the l’Homenatge tower, commonly known as ‘constipador’. Another of the towers, known as Prison of the Moors or Tower of the Cave is erected over the Saint Anthony cave, a vestige of a prior hermit dwelling from the 17th century. Within the site it is important to mention the Mare de Déu del Refugi oratory (1622), the inn, which is currently part of the La Pedra en Sec route, and five cisterns. The oratory turned this point into a point of worship and pilgrimage in the 17th century.
The anecdotes and legends associated to the castle add to its history: one recounts the feats Guillem Cabrit and Guillem Bassa, loyal to king Jaime II of Majorca and defenders of the fortress against the occupation by Alfonso III of Aragon. After the capitulation of the castle in January 1286, both were burned alive (like lambs) on the orders of king Alfonso at the Alaró town square, in the area of Los Damunts. This event led to the excommunication of the king by the Pope. Upon Jaime II’s return, popular devotion towards these two characters was fostered. They were venerated for several centuries as martyrs and saints, and their images were used in altarpieces and paintings in several churches in Majorca.