The castle of Capdepera was the original heart of the village, and was built (13th century) by order of Jaume II, King of Majorca. Noteworthy is its Gothic wall (completed in 1386), the Church of Our Lady of Hope (Nuestra Señora de la Esperanza) (14th century with 16th-century additions) and the Tower of Miquel Nunis (10th-11th century) set at the highest point on the castle grounds.
This fortress was built (14th century) by order of Jaume II to guard the area and control the sea links with Menorca. It was turned into a military barracks in the 18th century under the authority of a governor, whose house can still be seen inside the castle. The soldiers abandoned the castle (1854), which was finally donated to the Town Council of Capdepera in the late 20th century (1983).
At its highest part we can see the church of Nostra Senyora de l’Esperança (14th and 16th centuries) and the tower of Miquel Nunis, the oldest element of the whole grouping (10th-11th centuries). It has a square floor plan and also houses windmill ("molí d'en Cofeta").
The wall around the enclosure (1386) is Gothic in style, with a military character typical of the 13th and 14th centuries. Four towers were built at its eastern and southern sides (torre de Sa Boira, torre de ses Dames, torre d’en Banya and torre dels Costerans). Today, the main gates are the Portalet and the gate of Rei Jaume (the latter from the late 17th and early 18th century). Both gates have machicolations, garret and a guardroom, with a pointed barrel vault ceiling.
Visiting hours: From Wednesday to Sunday at 11 a.m. ,12 a.m. and 1 p.m.