Inaugurated in 1916 and remodelled in 2007, the Museu Diocesà de Mallorca houses an important collection of religious art spanning from paleo-Christian times to the 20th century
The Diocesan Museum of Majorca is located in the old Bishop's Palace and Gothic oratory of Sant Pau. It was founded at the initiative of Bishop Pere Joan Campins (1898-1915), who had the buildings for the gardens and orchards at the Bishopric rebuilt to house a museum. The remodelling was entrusted to architect Guillem Reynés. It was completed in early 1908 and the museum was inaugurated in 1916.
In 1998, Bishop Teodor Úbeda started a thorough remodelling of the museum at the hands of Mn. Llabrés, along with the architect Sebastià Gamundí and museologist Lídia Homs. The renovated museum was inaugurated in 2007. Since October 2013, the Museum is managed by the canonry of Majorca Cathedral.
The exhibition space is divided into seven sections, with works that range from the earliest manifestations of Christianity on the island to the 20th century, with Antoni Gaudí's work on the Cathedral and Bishop's Palace. On permanent display are some 200 works from convents, monasteries, churches and private donations, offering a tour through the history of Christianity on Majorca. The pieces comprise archaeology, painting, Gothic and modern sculpture, ceramics, furniture, and a space dedicated to Antonio Gaudí and Pere Joan Campins, inaugurated in 2014. It also has a room for thematic temporary exhibits.
Noteworthy in its collection is the painting of St. George by the Flemish style painter Pere Nisart and the work of the Renaissance painter Juan de Joanes. Also worth mentioning is the tomb of Jaime II, located at the end of the ground floor, but which used to be located at the foot of the presbytery in the Cathedral.
The museum organises guided tours and educational activities for different audiences.