The palace was built during the reign of Jaime II (1309) opposite the Santa María de Valldemossa parish church. King Martín of Aragon ceded it in 1399 to the Carthusian monks so they could found their monastery in Majorca.
This group of buildings was erected over the foundations of the old palace of Valldemossa, in the area of the Santa María cloister. This cloister can be accessed from the square through a small courtyard (late 19th century). It was built between the 16th and 17th centuries and is the oldest building in the historical-artistic ensemble of the Valldemossa Charterhouse that is still preserved today. It is a Renaissance cloister with segmental arches shored with buttresses. Only three wings and two floors are preserved nowadays.
Master builder Bartomeu Ferrà supervised the refurbishment (1880) of the eastern façade of the building that gives onto Rubén Darío Square, in a Neogothic style. It is structured around a central three-body tower with a geminate window with pointed arches in the main body and flat arches in the porch. The top floor has four windows that are finished with mouldings, and the whole is protected by a cornice with beams and a traditional gable roof. The inside houses the current dining room, with historicist details, designed by Bartomeu Ferrà, and the banquet hall, decorated in 1847 by R. Anckermann with large mythological- and historical-themed paintings.
Towards the south, the façade includes a porticoed gate that is the former entrance to the Chapterhouse. It is connected to the Torre de los Huéspedes (Tower of Hosts, 1555), a square tower with a sloped four-floor base, furnishings partially decorated with sgraffiti and ordinary masonry, with a beamed hip roof. One of the bodies of the building is annexed to the tower, which has only one storey and a terraced roof, with two semicircular arches and one flat arch. Gaspar Melchor de Jovellanos, the famous minister under Carlos IV, was imprisoned in this tower between 1801 and 1802, until he was transferred to Bellver castle.
Other important architectural elements are the Ave María staircase, with the drawbridge and the Saint Bruno medallion (Jaume Blanquer, 1623).