It is located on the northwest of the island, between the Points of La Gavina and Sa Pedrera, covering 146 hectares. In the late 17th century it belonged to the Jesuit convent of Ibiza and then was given to the Seminary until it was disenfranchised (1855). In 1874 the lands were bought by businessman and politician Antoni Marroig, who turned them into a vineyard to export wine to France, where production had plummeted on account of the phylloxera plague.
With the decline of the Marroig family, the house was turned into the IFA Hotel in 1933. Civil society's struggle to prevent its development ended in its acquisition by the Govern de les Illes Balears in 1998. Currently, Can Marroig houses the Welcome Centre for the Ses Salines Natural Park and offices of the Institut Balear de la Naturalesa (IBANAT).
The estate features remnants of recent farm activity (pump-mills and a water wheel, irrigation canals, etc.) and several significant archaeological sites as yet unexcavated, as well as interesting sandstone quarries from ancient times. There are footpaths for walking along a 2.6 km loop.